GI JOE Viral Campaign Already Starting?

Sgt. SlaughterHere’s something for you GI Joe fans to mull over: according to whois.net, the registered owner for the currently non-existent domain http://riseofcobra.com is Albert Pike, currently residing at 101 Callahan Drive, in Alexandria VA. Here’s the thing – there’s no home at that address, which looks out at the George Washington National Masonic Monument in DC. Additionally, Albert Pike is a genuine historical figure, and was a prominent member of the freemasons back in the day. From Wikipedia:

There has been speculation of a letter that Albert Pike wrote to Giuseppe Mazzini in 1871 regarding a conspiracy involving three world wars that were planned in an attempt to take over the world. This letter has been claimed by many internet sites to reside in the British Library in London. The British Library, however had the following to say:

The letter supposedly written from Albert Pike to Giuseppe Mazzini in 1871 does not exist.

Going back the the whois entry, along with the contact information there’s this quote: “In Hoc Signo Vinces.” Referring once more to Wikipedia:

In hoc signo vinces is the rendition in Latin of the Greek phrase “Ἐν τοÏ?τῳ νίκα”, en toutÅ?i nika, meaning “in this [sign] you will conquer”.

The final, least fun clue would be the fact that MarkMonitor, a company built to protect copyrighted brands and the like, is listed as the registrar for the domain.

One last bit – the email linked to the domain is listed as johnqpringle@gmail.com, so there’s that as well if you want to try to reach out and touch Cobra Commander or something.

Big thanks to “auctioneo” for the tip!



» Previous Post

» Next Post

6 Responses to GI JOE Viral Campaign Already Starting?
  1. Lucas
    June 25, 2008 | 8:15 pm

    Obviously if this is real this is some sweet viral marketing.

    I hope they do aim the backstory as one of the 30-something’s who was 8 when Joe first came out – we want our backstory – I never liked that Cobra Commander was just a used car salesman…and I also believe that Cobra as terrorists are not from a foreign country but that they are American “patriots”

    And yes this all sounds extremely Metal Gear Solid-ish…but if Hugh Jackman rather waste his time with Ewan McGregor than dressing up as Solid Snake – that’s his problem, better for the Joe producers.

    Where’s Thomas Jane when you really need him.

  2. Tammy
    June 26, 2008 | 3:41 am

    That’s the most inventive fake whois info I’ve ever heard of.

  3. Sam The Bright
    June 26, 2008 | 5:25 am

    Geez, I haven’t seen that guy in post for a while.

  4. Alistair Booya
    June 26, 2008 | 10:02 am

    While looking at the WhoIs I found something else interesting, the phone number on record belongs to;

    United States Government Airport Traffic Control Towers

    street address not available

    Santa Monica, CA
    (310) 450-4620

  5. Chris
    June 26, 2008 | 6:01 pm

    John Q. Pringle is a Scottish artist (1865-1925). Famous for his work with a group known as the Glasgow Boys, who were a group of artists and architects. This may not be the John Q. Pringle that the email address means, but perhaps it’s a Destro connection. Destro is a Scottish arms dealer.

  6. Chris
    June 27, 2008 | 1:24 pm

    Looks like they found out what we’ve been looking at. The info page says it had been updated very recently and I can’t find any of the found information anywhere. There’s nothing but markmonitor and dnstinations info.

Leave a Reply


Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?

Trackback URL http://kungfurodeo.com/2008/06/25/gi-joe-viral-campaign-already-starting/trackback/